For a Better Commute. For Better Connected Communities in Prince William & Stafford, Va.

Democrats pick up seats on Manassas Park Governing Body



MANASSAS PARK, Va. — Donald Shuemaker, Hector Cendejas, and Miriam Machado will all take seats on the Manassas Park Governing Body.

The results of the General Election held Tuesday. November 8 were just released to Potomac Local. The ballot count was extended to the unusual number of write-in votes during the election.

Shuemaker, and independent, is the only candidate whose name was listed on the ballot. He won the most votes, with 3,081 of the about 4,000 cast.

Two Democrats running as write-in candidates picked up seats on the Governing Body. Cendejas won



with 1,349 votes, and Machado won with 559 votes.

Independent Mehtab Sign Kahlon lost his bid for a Governing Body seat to Machado by two votes.

Manassas Park General Registrar Patrica Brendel told us this morning that the ballot count was slowed due to a large number of write-in ballots cast. 



Here is the breakdown for the remaining candidates: 

Micheal Rogers, 483

— Bill Treuting, Jr., 415

— Melissa Garza, 385

Richard Schubert, 181

— Jessie Ludvigsen 110

We’ve linked to the candidate profiles in this post to the candidates who responded to our Project: Election questionnaire sent to all Manassas Park candidates prior to Election Day.

Also notable in this election, Democrat Jeanette Rishell unseated longtime Republican Mayor Frank Jones

Bryan E. Polk and Keith Miller, who both hold seats on the Manassas Park Governing Board, decided not to seek re-election this year.

Post Your Email Notices, Press Releases, Event Fliers, and Photos

Readers also enjoyed...
A word from our sponsors...